Slow Cooker Chili

1 Feb

Super Bowl Sunday is coming up this week, so I thought I should concentrate on party foods, drinks and appetizers. If you are not attending or throwing a party this weekend, save these posts for when you do.

For starters, letÅ› start with Slow Cooker Chili.

Ingredients:

8 strips of bacon, chopped
1 lb. ground beef
1 lb. ground pork
28 oz. can stewed tomatoes
1 – 16oz. can tomato sauce
1 – 6oz. can tomato paste
2 – 16 oz. cans kidney beans
2 cups carrots, chopped
1 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup celery, chopped
1 cup green pepper, chopped
1 TB chili powder
1 ts salt
1 TB cumin
1 ts black pepper
1 TB Worchestershire
2 ts Franks hot sauce
1 ts cayenne pepper
1 ts paprika
1 ts brown sugar

Directions:

1. Cook bacon in skillet until crisp. Remove to paper towel to drain.
2. Brown beef and pork in bacon drippings in skillet.
3. Combine all ingredients in slow cooker.
4. Cover. Cook on LOW 9-10 hours. Stir occasionally.

2 Responses to “Slow Cooker Chili”

  1. Kathy February 1, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    I love my slow cooker! I have a bunch of healthy slow cooker recipes that I post on my blog if you’re interested.

  2. admin February 1, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Thanks Kathy! I love finding new recipes. Slow Cookers are the way to go for a busy family! I will add your website to my links section. Thanks for getting in touch. Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

