Broccoli and Cashews over Millet

7 Mar

I am attempting to make one Vegan recipe each week. The toughest part of eating vegan for me is the fact that I am usually starving 20 minutes after I eat. The recipes that include some sort of grain seem to keep me fuller longer. So, here is one of those recipes for you.

I found it in a book I recently purchased
It is sort of a crash course for beginners on how to become a Vegan.

Broccoli and Cashews over Millet

***Vegan Recipe***

Ingredients:

2 cups millet
6 cups veggie stock
2 TB olive oil
2 ts mustard
1 bunch broccoli, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1/2 cup water
1/2 cashews, chopped
1 TB soy sauce

Directions:

1. Cook millet in 6 cups of veggie stock in a covered pot over medium heat for 20 minutes.
2. In the meantime, heat oil in a large pan. Add the onion and let it cook for 3-5 minutes. Add the broccoli and mustard. Stir it until the veggies are evenly coated.
3. Add the water, cashews and soy sauce. Cook for 15 minutes.
4. Serve veggies over millet.

2 Responses to “Broccoli and Cashews over Millet”

  1. Jerrell Reisen June 18, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for rookie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Recipes for $50 | Dinner on the Cheap - March 7, 2010

    […] Broccoli and Cashews over Millet Parmesan Chicken and Pasta VEGETARIAN Green Beans, Potatoes and Eggs for Dinner Super Simple […]

Leave a Reply

